Close this search box.

Alexandre Kantorow wins The 2024 Gilmore Artist Award

26-year-old French pianist Alexandre Kantorow received The 2024 Gilmore Artist Award. This prestigious award, established in 1989 to honor the legacy of Irving S. Gilmore, has been conferred every four years to a concert pianist of any age and nationality since 1991.

Previous award winners were:

1991 – David Owen Norris (England)
1994 – Ralf Gothóni (Finland)
1998 – Leif Ove Andsnes (Norway)
2002 – Piotr Anderszewski (Poland)
2006 – Ingrid Fliter (Argentina)
2010 – Kirill Gerstein (Russia)
2014 – Rafał Blechacz (Poland)
2018 – Igor Levit (Russia/Germany)
2024 – Alexandre Kantorow (France)

The winners receive USD 300,000, of which USD 250,000 for the development of their artistic career.
Alexandre Kantorow, who won the first prize, gold medal and Grand Prix at the 16th International Tchaikovsky Competition in 2019, is not only the first Frenchman to win the Tchaikovsky Competition, but also the first French pianist to receive the Gilmore Artist Award.


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get Curated Post Updates!

Sign up for the Brilliant Piano newsletter to see new live stream events, articles and blog posts.

Subscribe to the Newsletter

Get new live stream events, articles and blog posts directly in your inbox.